Our events provide an opportunity to join with other public-interest individuals, enjoy wine from vineyards where farmworkers are treated well, and learn how your support can make a difference in the lives of farmworkers.

Farmworker Justice Annual Award Reception

May 7, 2014
6 to 8:30 pm
Beacon Hotel, 1615 Rhode Island Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20036 

We will be presenting awards to the following individuals for their important contributions in the quest for farmworker justice:

Farmworker Justice Award - Representative Judy Chu (D-CA)

Rep. Judy Chu, the first Chinese American woman elected to Congress, has been a strong voice for immigrant worker rights, occupational safety for agricultural workers, and comprehensive immigration reform in the California legislature and Congress. Our award recognizes Rep. Chu’s valuable assistance on issues of critical importance to our nation’s farmworkers.

The Shelley Davis Memorial Award* - Guadalupe Gamboa.
A migrant farmworker as a child, Lupe became a labor organizer with the United Farm Workers, and a legal services lawyer for farmworkers before his current position as Senior Program Officer on worker rights at Oxfam America. This award recognizes his collaborative efforts with farmworker organizations to bring a greater measure of justice to the fields.*The Shelley Davis Memorial Fund provides support to help Farmworker Justice carry on Shelley’s work, especially on occupational safety and health.

 Click to sponsor or buy tickets. 

Host Committee:

Tena Clark, DMI Music & Media Solutions
Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney, Former Washington State Legislator
Wade Henderson, Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
Dolores Huerta, Dolores Huerta Foundation
Eliseo Medina, Service Employees International Union
Janet Murguía , National Council of La Raza
Ray Offenheiser, Oxfam America

Sponsors (in formation)

Social Justice Advocate
United Food and Commercial Workers International Union

Katz, Marshall & Banks, LLP
Bernstein & Lipsett, PC
David Bowler
Ira J. Kurzban
Barbara Somson and Ross Eisenbrey
Kathy Krieger and Richard Cohen
Joan and James Leonard
Robin Talbert and Bruce Goldstein
James & Hoffman, P.C.
Nueva Vista Group

O'Donoghue & O'Donoghue LLP
Rural Housing, Inc.
National Migrant & Seasonal Head Start Association
Frances W. Stevenson
New York Administrative Employees CWA Local 1180
Katharyn Marks and James Klimaski
Andrea Bazan United Way Chicago

Farmworker Friend
Harvest America Corporation
Howard L. Berman
Dr. Robert Otto Valdez
Kerry Blume
Proteus, Inc.
Victor M. Glasberg & Associates
Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney
The Victoria Foundation
Mary Ann Massenburg and Robert Purcell
Edward John Tuddenham
Chris Owens, National Employment Law Project
Ibarra Strategy Group

*The Shelley Davis Memorial Fund provides support to help Farmworker Justice carry on Shelley’s work, especially on occupational safety and health. 

 Click to sponsor or buy tickets. 


Your support helps Farmworker Justice continue its important work.